South Dakota was the first state to codify Native American Day as a state holiday, but more states are beginning to set aside a day to commemorate the contributions of the indigenous people of North America.

LLMC — accessible with NYLI membership — now has an Indigenous Law Portal !

Alaska, California, Iowa, Louisiana, Maine, Michigan, New Mexico, North Carolina, Oregon, Texas, Vermont, Virginia, and Wisconsin have all recognized Indigenous Peoples’ Day as a state holiday.

And in early October 2021, Joe Biden became the first President to commemorate Indigenous Peoples Day .